(go to content)

Logotipo navarra.es

Castellano | Euskara | Français | English

Content tools

Share it

  • Meneame
  • Delicious
  • Twitter
  • Google
  • Facebook

2007-2009: Second UPN-CDN coalition government

Gobierno 2007-2009

Second UPN-CDN Coalition Government

The voter turnout in the May 2007 election was 73.8% (total eligible voters: 471,647) and abstention reached 26.2%. UPN got 22 seats (139,122 votes); NaBai, 12 (77,893); PSN-PSOE, 12 (74,157); CDN, 2 (14,418 votes); and IUN-NEB, 2 (14,337).

UPN and CDN agreed to join forces for a majority government. On August 8, 2007, an agreement was signed by UPN President Miguel Sanz, who became the fourth-time President of the Regional Government, and CDN President Juan Cruz Alli Aranguren.

On September 28, 2009, the agreement was terminated over disagreements on the Law on the Basque Language. As a result, UPN was forced to redistribute ministry office (from twelve to ten) and finish the legislative session as a minority party.

From 2007 to 2009, the members of the Government of Navarra were:

• President: Miguel Sanz Sesma (Corella, 09/16/1952), UPN

• First Vice-President and Minister of the Presidency, Justice and Home Affairs: Javier Caballero Martínez (Pamplona, 09/13/1961), UPN

• Vice President and Minister of Economy: Álvaro Miranda Simavilla (Zaragoza, 02/11/1957),UPN

• Spokesperson and Minister of Institutional Relations: Alberto Catalán Higueras (Corella, 11/07/1962), UPN

• Minister of Local Government: Amelia Salanueva Murguialday (Estella, 03/19/1966), UPN

• Minister of Education: Carlos Pérez-Nievas (Tudela, 10/05/1966), CDN

• Minister of Health: María Kutz Peironcely (Donostia-San Sebastián, 07/13/1954), UPN

• Minister of Rural Development and the Environment: Begoña Sanzberro Iturriria (Almandoz, 09/11/1962), UPN

• Minister of Social, Family, Youth and Sport Affairs: María Isabel García Malo (Castejón, 11/05/1967), UPN

• Minister of Culture and Tourism (Príncipe de Viana Institution): Juan Ramón Corpas Mauleón (Estella, 12/16/1952), UPN

• Minister of Public Works, Transport and Communications: Laura Alba Cuadrado (Madrid, 07/09/1971), UPN

• Minister of Housing and Territorial Planning: José Carlos Esparza Sáez (Miranda de Ebro, Burgos, 11/03/1954), CDN

• Minister of Innovation, Business and Employment: José María Roig Aldasoro (Tarragona, 09/15/1952), UPN

Government of Navarre

Contact us | Accessibility | Legal notice | Site map