(go to content)

Logotipo navarra.es

Castellano | Euskara | Français | English

Content tools

Share it

  • Meneame
  • Delicious
  • Twitter
  • Google
  • Facebook

Other rooms

Meeting rooms, Presidents' Room, the 'Isabelline' room, President's Office, chapel and dining room

Above, the President's Office. Below, a detail of the tapestry.

Above, the President's Office. Below, a detail of the tapestry.

This is where the Government of Navarre holds its Cabinet meetings. It is furnished with a large meeting table around which the armchairs of the members of the Government sit. They have red upholstery and embroidered chains in the backs, finished off by two small bronze eagles.

Murals by Gustavo de Maeztu: all the walls of the Room are decorated with a set of murals that are representative of Navarre, made in 1935 by the painter Gustavo de Maeztu. In the centre is a golden coat of arms of Navarre, supported by two women in typical regional costume. The two largest murals depict traditional agricultural scenes from the Mountain (northern) and Ribera (southern) areas of Navarre. Elsewhere there are episodes and illustrious figures from the history of Navarre.

The President of the Government of Navarre usually works and receives visits here. The central wall of the office is covered by a large tapestry depicting Sancho VII 'el Fuerte' in the Battle of Las Navas de Tolosa, breaking the chains around the tent of the Almohad leader. It was created in 1950 by Vicente Pascual based on a design by the painter Ramón Stolz.

Located next to the Throne Room, It is presided over by a Rococo altarpiece that has been recomposed with pieces brought from Ujué. The upper niches contain carvings of the patron saints of Navarre, San Fermín and St Francis Xavier, and in the centre stands a replica of Santa María la Real, an image from Pamplona Cathedral. The front of the altar, embossed in silver in 1952, is a gift from Navarrese emigrés to Argentina

In 1750 the Diputación of the Kingdom of Navarre decided to purchase some portraits of monarchs who were on the throne at the time and display them in the Palace. This decision was continued by later Diputaciones and has been maintained in an uninterrupted manner to the present day. As a result, the Palace of Navarre now has a gallery of 26 royal portraits of the Borbón dynasty, and some of them include a sign with the name of the monarch and his/her ordinal numbers of Navarre and Castile (e.g. Fernando III of Navarre and VII of Castile) from 1700 (Felipe V) to the present day (King Felipe VI and Letizia)

Next to the Throne Room stands a room that best conserves the original decorative atmosphere of the Palace. It is furnished with chairs in the Isabelline style and has a meeting table in the centre.

Used for meetings, aperitifs and banquets, It is the biggest room in the Palace after the Throne Room. It was decorated in 1951 using original elements from the palace and maintaining the Isabelline style.

The Salón de Presidentes is a room used for meetings and negotiations. Its walls are covered by a gallery of the portraits of the Presidents of the Diputación Foral and the Government of Navarre from 1940 to the present day. All the portraits are the work of César Muñoz Sola, with the exception of those of Gabriel Urralburu (by Pedro Manterola), Javier Otano and Miguel Sanz (by Tomás Muñoz Asensio, the son of Muñoz Sola), and Yolanda Barcina (by Elena Goñi).

Communication between the different parts of the palace is through its galleries or corridors. These are paved in marble of different and tones and were decorated in 1953 according to the design of the architect Víctor Eusa. Their walls are home to paintings and other artistic objects of interest.

The interior windows of the Palace of Navarre contain an interesting collection of leaden stained glass windows representing the coats of arms of the municipalities of Navarre. They were made by the Maumejean company in 1950.

Government of Navarre

Contact us | Accessibility | Legal notice | Site map